I watched a movie called “We Bought a Zoo”. You may have heard of it. Whether you regularly oogle over Matt Damon’s boyishly cute face or Scarlett Johanssen’s sultry glow, there is clear incentive for both genders to see it. And while I was expecting to enjoy the scenery if you know what I mean, I wasn’t expecting to get such a deep concept out of it.

“You know, sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.”

I wonder what the world would be like if we all had insane courage. Because insane courage isn’t your normal watered-down dose of bravery. Sure, you’ve had the courage to ask someone out for dinner, or ask your boss for a raise, but how many times have you had extraordinary courage?

                                                    Following your dreams takes insane courage.

I’m pretty open about the way I’ve dreamed of being a writer. This is a dream that involves me wearing highly fashionable clothes, living in a New York penthouse, and developing an unhealthy coffee addiction. It involves midnight releases, book signings, movie premieres and interviews. It’s a dream I’ve always had, but until last year, have never had the courage to follow.

The second I decided to actually call myself a writer, fear started to creep in and shatter my confidence. But every time I sit down at my computer to write, or open up a journal, I think of this video clip.

                                               And I promise you, something great will come of it.

So the dare of the week is this: Do something that puts you one step closer to achieving your dreams. It doesn’t matter how big or small your dream is, what matters is that you have one.

Have 20 seconds of insane courage…

I dare you.

