What Makes a Writer Want to Rock Out?

This article is about the link between writing literature and writing music. Let’s face it, a lot of writer’s come up with soundtracks to promote their books. Think Stephanie Meyer and her soundtracks for each Twilight Saga book.

This article made me think about my own history with music. I’ll tell you one thing, I’m not a big music buff. Seriously, it’s embarrassing how little I know about so many musicians. (My coworkers actually made fun of me for a whole day because I didn’t know who Ice Cube was.)

It’s not that I don’t love music, I do. It’s that 1.) I never know who sings what and 2.) I generally listen to my favorite songs over and over. My Ipod hasn’t had a makeover in years. So the idea of coming up with a modern soundtrack to accompany book is more than daunting, unless my audience are huge Garth Brooks and Dixie Chicks fans.

But there is one song that actually inspires a book for me. It’s called Lacrymosa by Evanescence. It’s not a well known song and it’s nestled away between the band’s popular hits. If I were to mention this song in an elevator I bet no one would know what I’m talking about.

But the song just spoke to me. Not even the words so much as the melody. It’s just so eerie and majestic that YA fantasy ideas just started spilling from my mind onto paper.

Is there a song that has ever inspired you to do something creative? If you had to pick one song to be the theme of your life, what would it be?

