Throwback Thursday: Lite Up Your Life

One of my favorite toys as a child was my beloved Lite Brite. I just loved the feeling of that smooth plastic piece in my sweaty palms, and the feeling of immediate gratification as I shoved the piece through the paper stencil and pulled it away, revealing an illuminated picture of a stick figure, or sometimes a unicorn.

And I guess the toys you play with when you’re little affect your dreams. I started to have a reoccurring dream in which I obtained a glowing, multicolored, multidimensional crystal star that gave me magic powers. Just one touch and I could fly through the house and shoot beams from my chest.

Sounds like I just had too many luck charms the night before right?

But I couldn’t shake this dream. And to date it is my most vivid,  most remembered dream.

But this silly, albeit super cool, dream is how I came up with the Astrum in Captivated (my first book that is currently on hold). The Astrum is a source of great power that has been misused by humanity and it’s up to my main character, Rodalia, to destroy it.

What toys did you play with as a child?

