The Broke and the Bookish provides a topic each week and bloggers list their top ten within that category.

Top Ten Books I loved Before Blogging

toptenbooks

10.) City of Bones by Cassandra Clare ♥  I read this book after college. It’s a fun, quick YA read with just a sprinkle of fantasy.

9.) Until I Die by Amy Plum ♥ I also read this one after college. It is the first book in a YA trilogy and I love the ideas and themes in it.

8.) Divergent by Veronica Roth ♥ A YA dystopian novel about standing out from the crowd and learning to be a fighter. What’s not to love?

7.) The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis ♥ I read this book for a children’s literature class in College. What’s cooler than finding a secret world?

6.) Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte ♥ I first read this book in high school then again in college. It is one of my favorite classics.

5.) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins ♥ I read this one for fun during college and it just hooked me. It’s a riveting YA dystopian novel.

4.) Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo ♥ I read this book after college and loved it. I love how empowered Bardugo’s heroine is at the end of the novel.

3.) The Giver by Lois Lowry ♥ This book is one of the original dystopian books for young readers and will continue to be an influence on my work.

2.) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling ♥ I absolutely love Harry Potter, but this one is my favorite because of the chamber. I always like secret rooms, etc.

1.) 1984 by George Orwell ♥ My favorite classic, my favorite dystopian novel. I read it in high school and I will always love this book.

