BB102874If you wanted to be cool in my fifth grade classroom you had to own an assortment of gel pens. You literally had to carry a gallon-sized Ziplock bag full of gel pens of every color from Pretty in Pink to periwinkle blue.

I’m glad my status is no longer defined by a bag of writing utensils, but I  haven’t quite rid myself of my affections for sparkly, colorful pens.

So naturally, when I started editing paper copies of SOUL TIE I just had to buy a pack of gel pens.

Writing expenses. Perfectly necessary and excusable from the budget, right? Tell my bank account that, brain.

It’s interesting to think about how fads shape us later in life. If something is so popular, so crucial, how can it not have a hint of importance later in life, even if it’s  utterly ridiculous (Furbies anyone?)

Fads may get a bad wrap but we can’t deny the fact that we get sucked into them. They become part of our culture. They become part of our history.

So as I pull out my handy dandy gel pen and practice my signature, I’ll think back to younger Dani, scribbling boys’ names on notebooks with a Red Hot gel pen, coloring in hearts and yet, breaking others at the same time. I’ll think about my childhood and those horribly wonderful, awkward years during which I sought desperately for a sense of self, a personality to adhere to. And I’ll think about my personal history, littered with a bit of ridiculousness and know that it’s fuel for my creative fire, a spark for my craft, and insight into why some things that seem so unimportant end up changing our lives in the end.

 

