Lovingly - Clouds with heart shape

 

I’ve been working on shedding the excess, or the fluff, in my life lately. Things that are a waste of time or things that are detrimental to my health, sanity and general well-being.

But it’s difficult to do because honestly, I think I like the fluff. It’s like a safety net. When we trim the fluff we leave the truth. And sometimes the truth hurts.

In writing, I have to watch for fluff too. Words, scenes, characters that don’t progress the plot or add meaning/depth to the novel have to be trimmed. It’s hard to cut words or characters I’m attached to, even if it’s for the better.

But eventually I find the courage to cut the unnecessary, to shed the fluff, and I look back at my writing, at my life and think, it’s a lot more beautiful without it.

 

 

