audrey-hepburn-mark-shaw-1-520x415

 

Back in my high school days I had a Xanga called colorinblackandwhite. I know I just took you way back to the pre-Facebook era. But I was kind of obsessed with black and white movies and equally obsessed with color. And then when the two meshed like they did in Pleasantville it was just exquisite.

But as I look back over my most recent novel I’m realizing that I have a little color to paint into a black and white landscape. By this stage in the writing process all of the elements are there: characters, plot, plot twists, tension and conflict.

But what’s missing is that extra oomph, that magic that turns an ordinary, sensible book into an absolute page turner. Granted, it’s hard to write a book like that, but I’m realizing there’s not a lot of difference between the current state of my book and a book that makes the reader beg for more. All that’s missing is a little color. The final touches.

I guess what I’m trying to say is writing a page-turner is not always some sort of divine intervention. It’s a craft. It’s practice and knowledge and skill. It is possible to write like a best-selling author. Maybe I will never be ridiculously famous, but I am capable of writing like that. I just have to give it time and practice, and absorb as much craft information as I can.

So keep pressing on, whatever it is you’re doing. You will get there in time if you put in the effort. And soon your world will be in Technicolor.

