I’ve already shared a bit about how introspective the writing process has been for me. But what I haven’t shared are the strange images I often find myself writing into my scenes that I’ve realized are just a bit odd, but at the time seem perfectly rational to me.

1 ♥ Wishing I could jump into the sky. I’ve always had this fascination with the night sky, especially when I’m swinging and the momentum kicks me up towards the stars. I’ve always wished I could keep going and land in the sea of darkness.

2 ♥ Wishing I could emit beams of power from my chest. Why the chest? I don’t know. I guess I just feel like it’s close to my heart, so it seems natural to be the place where my power emanates from. The beam is invisible of course. I can’t be turning heads with a cylindrical ray of light shooting out of me. That would just be weird. 😉

3 ♥ Wishing my body moved in unusual ways. I often write characters moving gracefully, a little too gracefully. My writing group already pointed it out that one of my characters stretched out a “long arm” which gave my book a spin I wasn’t looking for. And then there’s the instances where I use the verb gliding instead of walking.

4 ♥ Wishing I could be a ninja. I mean this one isn’t so ridiculous. Just think of Katniss Everdeen with her bow. I think one of the best parts of writing a female lead is making her exponentially more bad ass than you. But my character didn’t seem to naturally progress. I was just so excited to get her to a certain level that I pretty much turned her into a ninja overnight, which I think accurately depicts my dream in life.

5. ♥ Wishing I could communicate via dreams. I find myself wanting to write dream scenes quite often, but not just any dreams. There always has to be a sign or omen or foreshadowing of some sorts. I don’t think this is necessarily a bad thing, but I’m starting to think I just wish I could warn people in their dreams, or tell them some deep dark secret while they’re getting a bit of shut eye.

It’s funny what you end up writing when you turn off your inner editor. My true desires start to peek out, desires that seem awesome and normal to me but when I turn the inner editor back on, I realize are just a bit odd.

Luckily, being just a bit odd makes for some flavorful writing.

 

