justwriteit

 

There comes a point in life when you have to tell yourself to suck it up. For me that point is right now.

I shared with you that I’ve been in and out of story ideas, fiddling around, feeling lost and confused.

And then last night I saw a post on pinterest about running. It said, “how to run: lace up sneakers, run.”

It’s so simple right? And yet I never thought about the equivalence between my new fitness hobby and my writing career. All it took for me to learn to run was to put one foot in front of the other and run.

My endurance increased, and as I lost weight my heart rate didn’t get so high. I could run further and faster, stop less and rejoice more.

I just, did it.

And now I have this book sitting on my hands that I wrote in 2013. I have a love/hate relationship with it as it keeps me up at the wee hours of the night and morning, but also love as it slowly forms into something beautiful I’ve created.

After taking my time and distance from editing I can finally look at it and say, it’s worth finishing. It’s on it’s way to beautiful.

So my friends, I commit to you my plans to simply, just write it. This year I will pitch it to agents again with more confidence and a new angle.

